Losing Weight, Gaining Strength

My journey to a healthier me via exercising, and eating less.

Reflection

“Man must cease attributing his problems to his environment, and learn again to exercise his will – his personal responsibility.” 

Up until 5 months ago I was lying to myself. I told myself I was eating “healthy.” I told others I was “trying” to lose weight. I preached. I pretended. Why wasn’t I losing weight?

I wasn’t being honest. I was hiding from the facts. The fact is that I ate too much. I binged. I ate when I wasn’t hungry. I ate when I was bored. I ate when life was hard. I ate when life was great!

My successful progress has ultimately been based on my accountability, to myself.  When everyone is in bed, and I’m alone, I know that if I eat, even if no one is looking, it will result in weight gain.

That’s my secret. That’s my “miracle” cure. Honesty.

Over the years, nothing else worked because I wasn’t following through. I never lasted more than two weeks. I didn’t have the motivation, and I didn’t have the drive. And I lied to myself about it.

Now, in reflection, I can’t say yet what really changed me. Maybe my 30th birthday in the near future. Or my realization, now, with two children that I need to be here for my family. Being fed up with my depression and anxiety.

I just got to THAT point. Where change was necessary.

And here I am now.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. Yes!! Exactly, I realized a few weeks ago that exact same thing. I was not being honest with myself. It’s so hard to have that conversation with the selfish part of you and get them “on-board”. I had my first actual successful day yesterday and boy am I riding a high from that!! Good luck and stay true to you!

  2. Fooling oneself is soooo easy, when you want to be fooled. When you don’t want that anymore, it suddenly becomes impossible. 🙂

  3. Carmen Welfring on said:

    So proud of the progress you have made…you are beautiful inside and out! You have quite of gift for writing…I know you are an encouragement to others that are struggling with the same issues. May God continue to bless you as you depend on Him for your strength. Love you, Mom

  4. Being honest with yourself is one of the hardest things when it comes to food and your habits! I had no idea I was a food addict, stress eater, emotional eater until 19 months ago, it was a hard pill to swallow and still is at times. You can do this!

Leave a Reply

